Green Schools Committee

The Green schools committee has had several meetings already this year. They have decoded that the target this year is reducing waste. They conducted a survey amongst other teachers and peers and also with Mr Ivers, who is in charge of waste disposal in our school.

They learned that we are not very good at recycling our waste paper . Some classrooms don’t even have green bins. They also realised that we are using a lot of plastic water bottles .

They have begun a poster campaign to raise awareness and they are asking pupils and teachers to use refillable drink bottles and not single use plastic ones.

Their second target is to increase our recycling of paper and reduce our general waste. The committee are drawn from different classes in the school. The older members met in the conference room today and we were very impressed by their enthusiasm and determination.

Committee Members

Cyana Holmes, Ethan O’ Sullivan , Maria Flanagan, Mark Keegan

Stephen Crushell, Cillian Keating, Alex Doyle, Lucy Boyle,

Ellen Murphy, Hugh Cunningham, Gemma Kane , Mark Fitzgerald,

Witorian Bogudzinska, Cillian Mc Cooey, Ronan Farrell, Laura Lin

Zoe O’Grady, Alex Collins, Alicia Gallagher, Cian Condron

Edward Doyle, Katie Brennan, Donal Murphy, Zach Carthy

Tyler Mc Carthy, Calum Daly, Holly Birmingham, Martha Walsh